Music

Most of you that know me know that music has been a big part of my life… I grew up in the church of Christ and of course instrumental music was not allowed. I learned very early how to sing harmony, not to mention the talent passed down to me by my father, to be able to hear and sing the harmonies. I took 6 years of piano when I was younger and basically taught myself how to read music (for the voice), I already could read music for the piano. Started singing alto in church when I was younger, then joined chorus in middle school. Sang in the Chorus all through high school, was lead soprano in chorus, was voted most talented in high school plus I majored in music when I started college in the fall of 1988. During this time and even before took voice lessons and more piano lessons, but for some reason it just wasn’t my time to finish school. The love of music runs thru my soul. When I hear a song I can relate to I can feel it to the inner most core of my being. My dad has been a huge part of that love of music…. So many times he has called me to sing at funerals for church when he needed an alto or soprano part. To stand next to my dad at church and sing alto while he was singing the tenor part …..and then jokingly we would switch….he would sing alto (yes he has a very high range) and me sing the tenor part (obviously another inheritance)…these times are priceless. When my grandfather passed away a few years ago, we came up with this awesome idea to do the singing ourselves. Some of the songs were duets, but some we did all 4 parts….he would sing tenor while I sang the lead…..we would then play those parts and record the other two (him singing bass and me singing alto)….we also did the same for my grandmother’s funeral.

Now as my dad is suffering with Melanoma, which has moved into his lymph nodes, I have realized that the days on this earth with my father are numbered. These recordings that we have are totally priceless to me. I hope I can figure out how to get a song on here so that maybe I can share it with you….

The music in my life was handed down from one of the most kindest, loving, and humble men I have ever known….I love you daddy and I always will….

Be with me Lord

 

 

Enjoy!

Jeanna

One comment

  1. Bill · October 25, 2011

    I could not get the music

Leave a Reply

