Lesson I have learned…

I have made huge mistakes in my life…who hasn’t? We learn by those mistakes, we pick ourselves up off the floor, and we dust ourselves off. I have made some huge decisions over the past few weeks that have put a great peace in my heart. I have been so guilty of trying so hard to please others that I have forgotten about my own sanity! I don’t know how many of you know, but I was diagnosed with Narcolepsy last year. For those of you that don’t know what it is…you suffer from sleep spells. No matter how much sleep you get at night, it is never enough to get you through the day. As you grow older it gets worse. I take medicine during the day just to help me function. The medicine I take is a very highly controlled substance, but it is what I need to function. When I don’t take the medicine I can’t make it through the day! It is so frustrating! I want to be normal, but I don’t know that I will ever be normal…anyways….I got sidetracked…(very typical)!

I read an article the other day and it was so true to me that it hit me smack dab in the middle of my face! It was about a man that went to take golf lessons from a pro in Ireland. The first thing the pro told him was to make sure that no matter what to walk the course and enjoy the game. So many of us have to ride the cart and get from one hole to the next as fast as we can instead of walking and enjoying the scenery and reflecting on the whole experience! I am one of those people! I have been so wrapped up in getting my degree that I have not enjoyed the times I go to the ballgames to watch my daughter cheer or simply just laugh and carry on a conversation with my kids without yelling at them because I was trying to get homework done. I wanted to move up in the company and if you are going to be able to do that “you have to have your degree”… Well, it took me a year and a half and I have finally decided…pooey on the degree! My sanity and enjoying my family is so much more important! I love singing! I want to enjoy every minute I can singing and every experience with my quartet and chorus! I can’t do that when I have other things fogging my views! Me being so tired all of the time doesn’t help either! So…there it is…I am going to enjoy the walk and not ride the cart! My children are only this age once and I am only going to be the age I am once!

One comment

  1. jtcosby · December 11, 2007

    AWESOME! I am so proud of you for making this decision. I Know it had to be difficult. I cannot imagine doing everything you are doing!!! I love yoU!

Leave a Reply

